Minister of Defence Awards recognise defence industry excellence

08/05/2024 News

Nine businesses and individuals have been awarded a Minister of Defence Award of Excellence to Industry for their services provided to the Ministry of Defence and New Zealand Defence Force.

At an awards event held at Parliament last night, Defence Minister Judith Collins KC, Associate Defence Minister Chris Penk, and Chair of the Defence Industry Association Greg Lowe presented the awards.

In her comments, Ms Collins said the awards recognise a range of companies from across New Zealand and overseas, who provided outstanding service to Defence in 2023.

“Without that service, the New Zealand Defence Force’s ability to advance the wellbeing and security of New Zealanders would be diminished,” said Ms Collins.

The Award recipients are:



Category A - Prime Contractor of the Year – Sentinel Boats (formerly PFG Pty Limited)

Category B - Sub-contractor/SME of the Year Product – McMillan & Lockwood Central Limited

Category C – Sub-contractor/SME of the Year Service – Tree Trim and Earthworks Limited



Tū Māia (Integrity) – Charles Brown (The Building Intelligence Group)

Tū Tira (Comradeship) – Karl Potter (South Auckland Marine Limited)

Tū Kaha (Courage) – Natalie Doherty (Systematic New Zealand)

Tū Tika (Commitment) (two winners) – David Rangi (Mobile Communication Services Limited) and Jack Adlam (Maynard Marks Limited)

Kotahitanga (Unity) – Donna Tilley (Nova Systems NZ Limited)


Secretary of Defence Andrew Bridgman said this year’s winners provided exceptional work and their partnership with Defence is deeply valued.

“Congratulations to this year’s winners and finalists. It is an honour to be able to recognise their dedication, innovation and professionalism. These businesses and individuals are trusted partners and collaborators with Defence, and embody the Defence spirit of service.”

The Minister of Defence Awards of Excellence for Industry are administered by the New Zealand Defence Advisory Council on behalf of the Minister of Defence.

To find out more about the award recipients here(external link).